Book Review: Beware That Girl Teresa Toten

Title: Beware That Girl
Author: Teresa Toten
Publisher: DoubleDay Canada
Published: May 31, 2016

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27065377-beware-that-girl

For fans of We Were Liars, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl,
this powerful psychological thriller with multiple mysteries is set
against the backdrop of the megawealthy elite of New York City. Toten
delves into the mesmerizing yet dysfunctional world of those who
manipulate but seem ever so charming. With its gripping pace and
Hitchcockian twists, Beware That Girl will keep readers guessing until the very last line.

The Haves. The Have-Nots.
Kate O’Brian appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series
of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than
others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s
street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.

As the
scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut
out for her: her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at
Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior class “it”
girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged
Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s
always needed, the sister she never had.

When the handsome and
whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately
charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives—becoming
especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself.
It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too,
in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. How close
can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark
pasts?

First of all, I want to thank the publisher for sending this book to me in exchange of an honest review. I am delighted that I am on of the people who was granted with an ARC copy.
This book is exciting and intriguing at the same time. I like the way it was written, mysterious but it will give you clues. The reader will think what was really happening in the book. Who’s the villain? Who’s the insane person? What will happen to the main characters? and many more questions. The book for me is a bit challenging too since thriller isn’t my forte but then I enjoyed it. There were times where I won’t put the book down and I bring the book in the office and read it over lunch break. It isn’t my first time to read a thriller book but this one? I really enjoyed reading it. 
Kate O’Brian is a very secretive high school senior who has the goal to go to Yale. She pretends to be a person who is not her after all. She’s a Waverly scholar but can be described as a social climber too. She planned to be friend’s with Olivia Sumner. It isn’t a coincidence but things changed after she and Olivia became best friends, despite her Yale goal, she changed. Olivia Sumner is a rich girl who instantly liked Kate. She has a serious illness and tries to hide it from everyone. She claims she’s better after being away for too long. Coming back to Waverly, she’s expecting for a better life and she too, aims to go to Yale. Kate and Olivia is a part of group with the other three girls and they are lead by a man named Mark Redkin, one of the administrators. But, meeting Mark changed everything. He’s been keeping Olivia for his own pleasure and he is a threat to Kate.

I will stop there now, I might spoil everyone since I am trying not to, I might injected some words… sorry for spoiling you guys. This book is too good, it will be awesome it will become a movie too. I think it is perfect. It can also teach girls that these kind of things can happen in real life, maybe it is happening already and this book just teaches us to be alert at all times.

This explains the whole book…

My Ratings

My earliest and most fervent
ambition was to grow up and take my rightful place among the other
mermaids. When cruel and insensitive adults crushed that dream by
insisting that mermaids did not exist, I settled on the more mature
aspiration of becoming an intergalactic astronaut. Then I realized that
math would likely be involved. So, in the end, I went to Trinity College
at the University of Toronto where I got a BA and then an MA in
Political Economy taking great care not to take a single English or
Creative Writing class. The only thing I knew for sure was that I was
never ever going to be a writer. That would be silly, fanciful and well,
unrealistic. And then I started to write…
 
Source: Goodreads


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s